EU/EEA Countries – University of Copenhagen

Forward this page to a friend Resize Print Bookmark and Share

Bachelor > Admission requirements > EU/EEA Countries

Applicants with a diploma from the EU/EEA Countries

Applicants who have accomplished upper secondary / high school education in countries in the EU/EEA area are eligible to apply to the University of Copenhagen at the same conditions as applicants with Danish upper secondary school education both through quota 1 and quota 2.

In order to be eligible for admission to a bachelor’s degree programme, you need to fulfil or expect to fulfil the following admission requirements before 5th July:

  • General admission requirement
  • Specific admission requirements
  • Danish language qualifications

The admission deadline is 15th March. Please read more about when and how to apply.

See the check list of the documentation you need to provide.

General admission requirement

Some examples of qualifying examinations are:

 England: At least 9 subjects (GCSE-, AS- and A-level) including at least 6 different subjects and a least 3 A-levels / The 3 A-levels can, alternatively, consist of 2 A-levels + 2 AS-levels or 1 A-level + 4 AS-levels. International GCSE-, AS- and A-levels are valid as well.
 Estonia Gümnaasiumi Loputunnistus + Riigieksamenitunnistus
 France Baccalauréat général
 Germany Zeugnis der Allgemeinen Hochschulreife (Abitur) / Zeugnis der Reife / Reifezeugnis
 Italy Esame di Stato conclusivo dei corsi di studio di istruzione secondaria superiore / Diploma di Maturitá
 Latvia Atestäts par vidëjo izglïtïbu
 Lithuania Brandos Atestatas (Maturita Certificate)
 Poland Swiadectwo Dojrzalosci / Matura
 Spain Título de Bachiller/Bachillerato (Baccalaureate)
 Romania Diploma de Bacalaureat


A conclusive list of qualifying examinations is accessible on the webpage of The Danish Agency for Higher Education. Please note that you should always check their website or ask for counselling in the Guidance and Admissions Office, even though your entrance examination is listed above. There might be important details not mentioned on this website.

Your diploma results are converted to the Danish subjects, levels and grading scale according to the rules set by the Danish Agency for Higher Education. Please see their handbook of international examinations for more details (information in Danish only).

Applicants with a diploma from an EU/EEA country can get a speed start bonus of 1,08 if they have obtained their diploma within the normal study period in their country (usually 3 or 4 years).

The speed start bonus applies to applicants who seek admission within two years after completing their upper secondary / high school education.

Specific admission requirements

Read more about the specific admission requirements.

Danish language qualifications

The University of Copenhagen offers bachelor's degree programmes taught only in Danish. This is why all applicants with foreign and international examinations need to fulfil Danish language qualifications, which means have academic language skills in Danish.

Please note that the specific admission requirement about Danish A (mother tongue at the highest level) for all the programmes is not the same as the Danish language qualifications.

You can obtain Danish language qualifications by passing the 'Studieprøven i dansk', which is a nationally recognised test for foreign language speakers administered by numerous language schools in Denmark.

Please note that students from the Nordic countries and with international exams with Danish, Norwegian or Swedish included in their school leaving examination are not required to pass a Danish language test. However, a course in Danish for Scandinavians at e.g. Studieskolen may be helpful.

If you have International Baccalaureate or European Baccalaureate, please see the information here.

The EU/EEA countries

EU / EEA countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Applications from Switzerland are processed within the same rules.