Programme Structure - MSc in Political Science – University of Copenhagen

Forward this page to a friend Resize Print Bookmark and Share

Political Science > Programme Structure

Programme Structure


All courses on the master's programme are prescribed to 7,5 ECTS credits. The courses take place in classes of varying sizes and conclude with an oral examination or a written examination in the form of a free assignment.

The courses focus on theory, but also incorporate examples and case studies from current political affairs. Discussion and debate are important parts of the programme, as students must be able to show they can independently evaluate issues raised in class. It is common for class courses to alternate between teacher presentations, group and plenary discussions and student presentations.

Classes are held in the Department of Political Science, located at the Centre for Health and Society (colloquially CSS), Øster Farimagsgade 5, DK-Copenhagen K.

Study places, computer rooms and other facilities are also available here.


The Master’s Programme in Political Science is prescribed to two years of full-time studying (120 ECTS credits). The core subject area is political science and a minimum of 90 ECTS credits, including the thesis, must be within the field of political science (i.e. international relations, political science with history of ideas and governance). Up to 30 ECTS credits can be taken in general social science.

Requirements vary for the number of written and graded exams, but you are otherwise largely free to choose subjects in your area of interest.

Up to 60 ECTS credits may be transferred from abroad or from other institutions in Denmark, and up to 30 ECTS credits may be taken in the form of an academic internship (practical training) in Denmark or abroad. You can read more about internships and study abroad by choosing them in the left side.