Residence permit

Your citizenship decides which rules are in force when you apply for a Danish residence permit. The same applies to work permits.

  • Citizens of Nordic countries
    Nordic countries are nationals of: Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

  • Citizens of EU/EEA countries and Switzerland
    citizens are nationals of: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus (only the Greco-Cypriot territory), the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.
    EEA citizens are nationals of: Lichtenstein, Iceland and Norway. (In this context, Icelanders and Norwegians have rights according to their status as Nordic citizens).

  • Citizens of non-EU/ EEA and non-Nordic countries
    All countries not listed above.