Tuition fee

Non-EU/EEA citizens are required to pay tuition fees for the entire two-year master’s programme.

The tuition fee for the two-year master’s programme is DKK 188,000. Tuition is paid in four instalments and levied prior to commencement of each semester.

Payment deadlines

The payment deadlines are:

  • 1st semester: 2 weeks after you have received your invoice by e-mail
  • 2nd semester: 15 January
  • 3rd semester: 15 August
  • 4th semester: 15 January

Please note that the 1st semester tuition fees are not refundable after 1 August. 


  • Applicants holding a valid Danish permanent residence permit (permanent opholdstilladelse) or a temporary Danish residence permit with a view to permanent residency (mhp. varigt ophold) are exempt from paying tuition fees.
  • EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are exempt from paying tuition fees.

Scholarships and loans

Non-EU/EEA/Swiss applicants who have submitted a complete application are automatically assessed for the Danish Governmental Scholarship. Applicants are not required to submit a separate scholarship application.

The scholarship consists of a full waiver of the tuition fees for the two-year master’s programme, in addition to a monthly stipend for 22 months.

The scholarship is awarded to applicants with outstanding academic performance. The Faculty of Humanities typically awards 3-6 scholarships per year.

The Danish Governmental Scholarship is the only Danish scholarship opportunity available to international master's degree students at the University of Copenhagen – Faculty of Humanities.

For general information about scholarships and other funding options, please refer to Scholarships and loans.