Programme Structure

One block is nine weeks and counts as 15 ECTS credit points. Most of the courses equal 7.5 ECTS credit points, so you must follow two courses in each block.

Entering the master programme, you can choose between four specialisations:

In the first year of each specialisation you follow three compulsory courses that gives you an overview of the selected area of geology. In addition, you follow three restricted elective courses covering areas of geology relevant to your specialisation, as well as to elective courses.

You conclude your studies in the second year with a Master's thesis, which is a large scientific written paper to be defended orally. You can write an experiment-based thesis which usually includes field work, collection of samples and subsequent laboratory work.

Master's thesis project

Examples of topics for recent MSc theses are:

  • Vulcanological and geochemical survey of Boa Vista, Cape Verde Islands
  • Geochemical study of Storø gold mineralisation, West Greenland
  • Study of ground-water exchange to and from lakes using tracer tests
  • Evolution of the birds after the Cretaceous-Tertiary Boundary
  • Sedimentological analysis of the Balka sandstone on Bornholm
  • Geological evolution and hydrocarbon potential in the Danish part of the south-western Baltic Sea