Programme Structure - MA in Applied Cultural Analysis – University of Copenhagen

Applied Cultural Analysis > Programme Structure

Programme Structure

The MACA programme is a two year programme at Master’s level, and it is put together by seven courses (some of which are elective) and is concluded with a Master’s thesis. The programme involves co-operation with external partners and comprises internship in an organization outside university.

The MACA programme provides students with both practical and theoretical skills. On the one hand, field work methods such as qualitative interviews, participant observation and digital ethnography play a considerable role. On the other hand, students are trained in working with contemporary cultural theory and the complex influence of cultural phenomena on processes in organizations and society. As a result of that, students are required to independently conduct cultural analyses, including the selection of methodological approaches from their analytical abilities and the reflection on ethical implications of the application of these methods. Also, weight is put on the proficiency in the organization of projects and in the communication of results to other actors in society.

The programme is taught in English. You must complete the study programme within 2½ years of study.

PLEASE NOTE: A new curriculum will come into effect on 1 September 2019, which means that there may be significant changes in relation to the programme structure and course modules taught in English.

Year 1 Semester 1 Semester 2

Module 1: Introduction to Applied Cultural Analysis (7.5 ECTS)

Theoretical perspectives in Cultural Analysis (7.5 ECTS)

Module 3: Methodologies for Cultural Analysis (15 ECTS)

Module 2: Strategies for Composing Cultural Analysis (15 ECTS)   

Module 4: Fieldwork and Project Management (15 ECTS)

Year 2

Semester 3 (mobility window) Semester 4

Module 5: Understanding Organizations and
Communication Through Academic Internship (15 ECTS)

Module 7: Thesis (30 ECTS)

Module 6: Specialisation (15 ECTS)


See a description of each course.