Programme Structure - MSc in IT and Cognition – University of Copenhagen

IT and Cognition > Programme Structure

Programme Structure

The MSc programme in IT and Cognition consists of cognitive and technical courses. In the first year, students gain knowledge of image and text processing, scientific programming, machine learning, data structures and search algorithms, as well as an understanding of computational modeling methodology in cognitive science.

In the third semester, students specialize by taking selective courses offered by the Center for Language Technology or the Department of Computer Science, or by taking courses at other Danish universities or abroad. IT & Cognition students have, for example, taken semesters at University of Amsterdam and University of Edinburgh.

The table below illustrates how the subject elements are distributed across the semesters.

Year 1 Semester 1 Semester 2

Cognitive Science I (7.5 ECTS)

Cognitive Science II (7.5 ECTS)

Scientific Programming (7.5 ECTS)

Introduction to Data Science 
(7.5 ECTS)

Language Processing I (7.5 ECTS)

Language Processing II (7.5 ECTS)

Vision and Image Processing
(7.5 ECTS)

Specialization I (7.5 ECTS)

Year 2

Semester 3 Semester 4

Cognitive Science III (7.5 ECTS)




Thesis (30 ECTS)

Specialization II (7.5 ECTS)

Specialization III (7.5 ECTS)

Academic Internship (15 ECTS)

Free Topic (7.5 ECTS)

Specialization IV (7.5 ECTS)

Regarding Semester 3, please note that the student has to choose between the following subject elements:

  • Specialization I and Specialization II, or
  • Academic Internship and Free Topic, or
  • Specialization IV